Council Elections

Following the close of nominations for the Council vacancies, the Interim Candidate Committee (ICC) confirmed the eligibility of all of the nominations in each of the categories, and the suitability against role profiles for the Honorary Officers. 

The ICC has confirmed that the following candidates should go forward on the ballot papers for the election of the vacant Council positions.

IChemE members can view the biographical details and election statements of each of the candidates by logging in to 'My IChemE'

Deputy President (2018/19) : 1 position

  • Max Lu AO FIChemE
  • Andrew Thompson CEng FIChemE


Vice President (International) : 1 position

  • Michael Cloke CEng FIChemE
  • Thomas White CEng MIChemE


Ordinary Member : 3 positions

  • Michael Burcher CEng FIChemE
  • Christopher Chambers CEng FIChemE
  • Ian Davies CEng FIChemE
  • David Edwards CEng CSci FIChemE
  • Michael Hancock CEng FIChemE
  • Alan Harper CEng CSci CEnv FIChemE
  • Nigel Hirst CEng FIChemE
  • Peter Hunt CEng FIChemE
  • Macsene Isles-Ahite CEng MIChemE
  • Brett Mahar CEng MIChemE
  • Keith Plumb CEng CSci FIChemE
  • Lakshan Saldin CEng FIChemE
  • Stefaan Simons CEng FIChemE
  • Mark Sutton CEng FIChemE
  • Wendy Wilson CEng MIChemE


No formal nominations were received for the Honorary Treasurer role.   However, Mr Iain Martin CEng FIChemE, whose current term on Council is due to end at the 2018 AGM, agreed to continue on Council for one further year to take on the Honorary Treasurer position.   The Interim Candidate Committee, therefore, confirmed that Iain Martin would become IChemE's Honorary Treasurer with effect from the end of the AGM on 21 May 2018.

All eligible voting members will receive ballot papers and their 'unique voting code' (UVC) directly from Mi-Voice and will be able to place their votes online by visiting and entering their UVC.

Voting will open on 29 March 2018 and will close at 23:59 on 30 April 2018.


My IChemE

IChemE is a registered charity in England & Wales (214379), and a charity registered in Scotland (SC 039661).